The House Has Been Brought Down: My Rachel-centric view of ‘A Night of Neglect’

Favorite Performance: Ain’t No Way 


Since Rachel did not have a performance this episode, Mercede’s moving rendition of Ain’t No Way earns my favorite performance of the episode. I loved the choir backing her and the song truly did, as Rachel said, bring the house down. I also loved the small moment we got of Rachel looking longingly at Finn, showing us once again that she still has strong feelings for him.

Favorite Rachel Quote: “There’s nothing that I wouldn’t do for the chance to be in the spotlight.”

If our Rachel is one thing, it’s driven. She’s constantly fighting for her dreams and her goals, standing up for what she believes in, and always staying true to herself. That’s why I love when Glee gives us little reminders of who Rachel is and just how much the spotlight and fame truly mean to her. Glee may slack on some character’s storylines, but I’m glad to hear this is one aspect of Rachel they cannot forget, much like Rachel herself.

Favorite Rachel Moment: The Car Talk

In what was by far my favorite moment of the episode, Rachel and Mercedes’ talk about how Rachel always steals the show and Mercedes is always stuck on the backburner was a moving one. It’s something viewers have noticed since day 1 and I’m glad the writers did address the topic. Don’t get me wrong, I love Rachel more than anything, but I do wonder why she’s the only one who gets the solos or the big numbers. I also loved this moment because it proved once again that Rachel, although driven and concerned with fame, will always be there for her friends. One thing I would like to know: Why is it constantly raining when someone is in a car?!

Favorite Rachel Outfit: Laundry by Shelli Segal Lace Sheath Dress

I absolutely adore this dress that Rachel wore during the benefit. The lace detail is lovely and it’s a very affordable dress, at only $89 dollars. For more information, head over to Fashion of Glee.

Final Thoughts: After a month long hiatus, I couldn’t be happier to have Glee back on our television screens. Though most of this episode felt like filler to me, the few touching scenes and moments made it worth it. From Rachel and Mercedes’ car talk to Holly’s discussion on how the internet has given bullies a way to attack while staying anonymous, I loved the statements it made and what both conversations said about the world. The comedic moments were spectacular (Pink Dagger, Santana’s razor blade hair, etc.) and I was excited to see Sandy and Terry back with Sue, once again plotting the Glee club’s demise.

What were your favorite moments/scenes this episode? Share in the comments section below!

Next week, Glee’s 90 minutes long for the special ‘Born This Way’ episode! I, for one, couldn’t be more excited!

Rachel

*All screencaps courtesy of rawr-caps.net*


Leave a Reply

