Happy Days Are Here Again: My Rachel-centric review of ‘Duets’

I admit, I’m a little late to the party here, but I wanted to still share some of my thoughts on last night’s fantastic episode.

First, I was very impressed with how much actual plot the episode contained. It felt like the Glee from the first 13 episodes, where character development occurred, storyline continuity was brought up, and the entire show wasn’t spent recreating music videos or paying tribute to any artists.

Most of all, I was impressed by how much Rachel grew this episode; but more on that later. Let’s get right to the review.

Favorite Rachel Performance: Happy Days Are Here Again/Get Happy

How could you NOT love this fabulous performance? Rachel and Kurt singing together was pure gold. Their outfits, almost exact replicas of Barbra and Judy’s was another added gem.

Favorite Rachel moment: Rachel’s ‘I’m not very nice’ discussion with Finn.

Proving that Rachel has grown significantly throughout the series, Rachel admits that she isn’t very nice and that she’s selfish. It takes a big person to admit something like that and I was happy to see Rachel growing as a person.

Favorite Rachel quote: “Look, I know you’re lonely, but you’re not alone”

In a very touching scene between Kurt and Rachel, Rachel lets Kurt know that, although he may seem alone, he never will be. He has the entire Glee club on his side, including her. It was nice to see Kurt and Rachel getting along for once and I absolutely adored the scene.

Favorite Rachel Outfit: The Barbra-inspired sailor outfit

How could I not pick this as the best outfit? Everything about it was amazing! We know how much Rache loves Barbra and that entire performance, right down to the outfit, was the perfect homage.

Leave a Reply

